ICD-10 Transition

 Countdown to ICD-10

Compliance Date
October 1, 2015

 About ICD-10


On August 31, 2014, the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) issued a rule finalizing Oct. 1, 2015 as the new compliance date for health care providers, health plans, and health care clearinghouses to transition to ICD-10, the tenth revision of the International Classification of Diseases. This deadline allows providers, insurance companies and others in the health care industry time to ramp up their operations to ensure their systems and business processes are ready to go on Oct. 1, 2015.

ICD-10 references the International Classification of Diseases, Tenth Revision, Clinical Modification (CM) and Procedure Coding System (PCS) codes. No earlier than October 1, 2015, the ICD-9 code sets used to report medical diagnoses and inpatient procedures will be replaced by ICD-10 code sets. Specifically:

  • ICD-10-CM codes, for diagnosis coding in all U.S. health care settings, replace ICD-9-CM Volumes I and II.

  • ICD-10-PCS codes, for inpatient procedure coding, replace ICD-9-CM Volume III.

No earlier than October 1, 2015, ICD-10 codes will be required for all HIPAA transactions as follows:

  • ICD-10-CM codes must be used for all ambulatory and physician claims with dates of service on or after the ICD-10 compliance date, and for all inpatient claims with dates of discharge on or after ICD-10 compliance date.

  • ICD-10-PCS codes must be used for all inpatient claims with dates of discharge on or after ICD-10 compliance date.

Claims billed with ICD-9 codes for services provided on or after the compliance deadline above will be denied.

For more information about ICD-10, see the following quick references from CMS:

 ICD-10 Testing

The USVI ICD-10 Testing Plan is currently under development. Testing dates and other details will be announced soon. For more information about ICD-10 testing for providers, see the link below:

CMS End-to-End Testing